Seton Hall Athletics unveils 2020 SHUcademy award winners

Seton Hall Athletics celebrated its annual SHUcademy Awards presentation on Wednesday, handing out awards to all 14 of its programs via Instagram and Twitter.

Myles Powell was named Seton Hall’s Male Athlete of the Year after becoming the program’s first NCAA consensus first-team All-American since 1953 and winning the Jerry West National Shooting Guard of the Year Award. Powell also won the SHUcademy award for men’s basketball Team Athletes of the Year for best teammate.

Mia Kness was named Seton Hall’s Female Athlete of the Year after leading the women’s golf team and ranking second in the Big East Conference with a 74.15 scoring average in her junior year.

Other winners from yesterday’s celebrations include:

Breakthrough Athletes of the Year
Romaro Gill, Men’s Basketball
Haylee Gasser, Volleyball

Sport & Spirituality Award
Noah Thompson, Baseball

Freshman Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Raygan Murray, Volleyball
Torre Avitabile & Hugo Keller, Men’s Soccer
Walker Parra, Men’s Swimming & Diving

Sophomore Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Kelsey Gumm, Softball
JP Marin, Men’s Soccer

Junior Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Olivia Hernandez, Women’s Cross Country
Andreas Nota, Men’s Soccer

Senior Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Steven Catudal, Men’s Soccer
Anniek Jansen, Tennis

Team Academic Award (Highest GPA)
Men’s Golf
Women’s Golf

2019-20 Academic All-Stars (Highest GPA)
Steven Catudal, Men’s Soccer
Cristina Fernandez, Women’s Cross Country
Atley Fortney, Women’s Soccer
Kelsey Gumm, Softball
Olivia Hernandez, Women’s Cross Country
Anniek Jansen, Tennis
Lizzy Kirk, Women’s Soccer
Kat Matthys, Softball
Emma Newgarden, Women’s Cross Country
Alyssa Reszkowski, Women’s Soccer

Pirate Perseverance Award
Grace Endersby, Women’s Swimming & Diving
Kat Matthys, Softball

Iron Pirate Award
Romaro Gill, Men’s Basketball
Michal Matson, Tennis

Teammates of the Year
Baseball – Tyler Shedler McAvoy
Men’s Basketball – Ike Obiagu
Women’s Basketball – Alexia Allesch
Men’s Cross Country – Ryan McNeilly
Women’s Cross Country – Kassi Yocco
Men’s Golf – Alex McAuley
Women’s Golf – Lizzie Win
Men’s Soccer – Oscar Navarp
Women’s Soccer – Izzy Engel
Softball – Kat Matthys
Men’s Swimming & Diving – Tyler Kauth
Women’s Swimming & Diving – Gabby Van Tassell
Tennis – Melody Taal
Volleyball – Amanda Rachwal

Team Athletes of the Year
Baseball – Casey Dana
Men’s Basketball – Myles Powell
Women’s Basketball – Alexis Lewis
Men’s Cross Country – Cole Kretlow
Women’s Cross Country – Kassi Yocco
Men’s Golf – Alex Chalk
Women’s Golf – Maddie Sager
Men’s Soccer – Carlton McKenzie
Women’s Soccer – Melissa Aniolowski
Softball – Baylee Allender
Men’s Swimming & Diving – Josh Tosoni
Women’s Swimming & Diving – Julie Stankiewicz
Tennis – Minja Gligic
Volleyball – Haylee Gasser

Most Valuable Pirates
Kat Matthys, Softball
Michal Matson, Tennis

Justin Sousa can be reached at Find him on Twitter @JustinSousa99.

Author: Justin Sousa

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This