Breaking: Big East no more

The Big East Conference is no more.

Multiple sources have told that the seven non-football schools will vote to separate from the league.

Seton Hall, Georgetown, Providence, Marquette, DePaul, St. John’s and Villanova currently hold the two-thirds vote necessary to dissolve the league and have reportedly been unsatisfied with the direction of the conference during realignment.

Big East commissioner Mike Aresco is “exploring all avenues to hold the conference tighter,” according to USA Today but it seems that a break up is imminent.

Seton Hall was a founding member of the conference in 1979.

Continue to check for more updates on this story.

Stephen Valenti can be reached at

Author: Staff Writer

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This